If you are completing the SQE as part of your legal career, SQE1 is the first of two major exams that you are required to sit in order to become a newly qualified solicitor in England and Wales. The first part of the Solicitors Qualifying Examination (SQE) involves two assessments on Functioning Legal Knowledge (FLK), known as FLK1 and FLK2. SQE1 assesses candidates’ knowledge of the law, including fundamental legal principles in various areas.

What is Assessed in SQE1?

The SQE assessment has been developed specifically to test ‘Functioning Legal Knowledge’. In order to pass SQE1, this needs to be demonstrated to the level of a newly qualified solicitor. This includes legal knowledge across different practice areas (ranging from dispute resolution to property law), and the application of core legal principles, ethics and professional conduct.


  • Business Law and Practice
  • Dispute Resolution
  • Contract Law
  • Tort Law
  • The Legal System
  • Legal Knowledge: Business Law and Practice, Dispute Resolution, Contract, Tort, Legal System, Public Law, Legal Services


  • Property Practice
  • Wills and Administration of Estates
  • Solicitors Accounts
  • Land Law
  • Trusts Law
  • Criminal Law and Practice
  • Legal Knowledge: Property Practice, Wills and the Administration of Estates, Solicitors Accounts, Land Law, Trusts, Criminal Law and Practice

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Get the latest news on the SQE


What Does SQE1 Involve?

The SQE1 is comprised of two assessments: FLK1 and FLK2. Each of these must be taken on separate days, non-consecutively. Both of these are written exams and there are no oral legal skills assessments in this portion of the Solicitors Qualifying Examination.

There are a number of practice areas tested in each assessment, and these may be tested in any variety of combinations. There are 180 multiple-choice questions in SQE1, with 90 in each Functioning Legal Knowledge assessment.

Both are closed book, without any additional notes allowed to be brought into the room for the computer-based assessments.

Legal knowledge tested is based on the relevant law as it stands four months before the first assessment. Any updates or changes after this point won’t be included in the exam.

Questions may require:

  • Identification and application of legal principles
  • Identification of the reasoning behind the application of legal principles and the relevant rule
  • Application of rates or thresholds for calculations, such as tax rates and percentages

How Much Does SQE1 Cost?

The SQE1 costs a total of £1,622, which is paid in one go at the time of booking FLK1 and FLK2.

You can pay online when booking your SQE assessments through an SQE account on the SRA website. You can use most payment methods, as well as a payment voucher, if you have one. If you have opted for an SQE preparation course as part of your legal education, your training provider may give you a payment voucher to use to book the test.



Prepare For The SQE With ULaw

Find out more about The University of Law’s SQE Prep Courses

Explore ULaw’s SQE 1 Prep Courses

Loading More Content